News & Information

Gary Hennigan Lifetime Achievement Award
Wednesday, May 29, 2013
As has become tradition, District 12 has recognized one of the very special individuals as recipient of the Gary Hennigan Lifetime Achievement Award. Gary Hennigan Lifetime Achievement Award is named after the first recipient of the award in 2004. Gary spent his life molding the young people in Tyler County as sheriff of Tyler County and President of Tyler County Little League for over thirty years. His passion and dedication of helping children thru the Little League program will always be remembered thru this award.

During the Opening Ceremonies of the 2013 Beaumont City Championship, District 12 Administrator Charlie Boykin was announced as the 2013 recipient of the Gary Hennigan Lifetime Achievement Award. In keeping with the spirit of the award, Charlie has dedicated his adult life to the service of Little League baseball in Southeast Texas, District 12 and throughout the region by serving as Team Manager, Board Member, League President, Head of Umpires, all else involved in running a local league while at North Beaumont. Charlie has served District 12 as its District Administrator for the past 20 years.

Charlie is a consummate professional who often refers to all District 12 players as “my kids”. Every decision Charlie makes has the best interest of “his kids” forefront in his mind. Through his actions and deeds, Charlie leaves an indelible mark upon all who encounter him. Southeast Texas and throughout this region has been the benefactor of his passion for Little League baseball and his service the youth of this region.

Adding to his list of honors, North Beaumont Little League honored Charlie by renaming the Major League Field, “Charlie Boykin Field” at the start of the 2013 season.

Asked about the honors her father has received, Charlie's daughter replied:
"...he has been a true role model to me and my kids!
He stands for everything a kid should look up to!
I couldn't have asked or hoped for anything more!"

Heather Soto (5/28/2013)


Please join all of District 12 in Congratulating Charlie Boykin as the 2013 Gary Hennigan Lifetime Achievement Award recipient!!

Previous recipients:

2004 Gary Hennigan
2005 Blackie Boutte
2006 No Award (Hurricane Rita)
2007 Tal Smith
2008 Robert Hall
2009 Raymond Brassard
2010 Eugene Kirkindoll
2011 David Smith
2012 Kyle Wier
2013 Charlie Boykin

District 12 Thanks You for Your Tireless Service.

District 12 News & Information
Thursday, July 2, 2009
Please submit your Little League News & Information to be considered for publishing Texas District 12 News & Information

Copyright © 2007. All rights reserved. Contact Texas District 12's webmaster